Windows Engine Test (Complete)

Discussion of Maia's on going development, including modding.
croxis
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 11:42 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test

Post by croxis » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:35 pm

Worked as advertized on my system. The only thing I would suggest is moving the default camera rotation button to the middle mouse button, as the other strategy games I play have camera rotation bound to either middle mouse or right mouse with and panning on the other.

User avatar
Meneth
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:32 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test

Post by Meneth » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:41 pm

The new .exe still crashes for me:

Code: Select all

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:	APPCRASH
  Application Name:	Maia.exe
  Application Version:	0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp:	515de434
  Fault Module Name:	aticfx32.dll
  Fault Module Version:	8.17.10.1172
  Fault Module Timestamp:	50d21f11
  Exception Code:	c00000fd
  Exception Offset:	00037ca6
  OS Version:	6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
  Locale ID:	1044
  Additional Information 1:	e772
  Additional Information 2:	e77271159bd7df4c3732a2ba5858ede8
  Additional Information 3:	9649
  Additional Information 4:	9649f9b195842ac939b73b1d7053a4cc

User avatar
SimoRoth
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:28 am

Re: Windows Engine Test

Post by SimoRoth » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:41 pm

Just posted a new exe.

ATI users does it work!?

Also fixed - Evil blue fog.
You can zoom out 3x as far now.
Pressing L now deletes previous world's objects and plants. (still leaks some memory, but its only a debug tool!)
Sound disabled. (Its been the root of a few crashes)

fohx
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:11 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test

Post by fohx » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:44 pm

SimoRoth wrote:If you have Visual Studio installed you can go into debug it and click "continue" and get into the game.
Ok, tried this but as I said on Twitter you need a full license (i.e. not express) for VS to do Jit debugging. You can, however, open the exe as a project and launch it through VS, in which case you get a stack overflow that you actually can continue from in the debugger.

After that the game loaded for quite a while. Possibly a problem here, even got the same problem when I detatched VS from the process. Somewhere around 40-45 sec. Seems to use a lot of memory.

Your FPS counter is a bit weird, in 1080p windowed it says around 50 fps, but it is in practise more around 3-4. Could be the drivers being not so happy about me continuing earlier though. Running a lot better in 1280x720 but still < 10 fps even though the FPS counter says otherwise (around 70-80).

I hear wind blowing.

Pressing L crashed the game once and got it to freeze up on another run.

System specs: Core i5 dual 2.5GHz, 4GB ram, AMD 6630m 256GB GDDR5, Windows 8 64bit. (Not fastest machine around, but only with Windows. Still runs games like Borderlands 2 decently).

User avatar
Nettle
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 1:17 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test

Post by Nettle » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:47 pm

SimoRoth wrote:Just posted a new exe.

ATI users does it work!?

Also fixed - Evil blue fog.
You can zoom out 3x as far now.
Pressing L now deletes previous world's objects and plants. (still leaks some memory, but its only a debug tool!)
Sound disabled. (Its been the root of a few crashes)
Not for me. Neither as normal or from the cmd.

Normal

Code: Select all

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:	APPCRASH
  Application Name:	Maia.exe
  Application Version:	0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp:	515de434
  Fault Module Name:	aticfx32.dll
  Fault Module Version:	8.17.10.1172
  Fault Module Timestamp:	50d21f11
  Exception Code:	c00000fd
  Exception Offset:	00037ca6
  OS Version:	6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID:	2057
  Additional Information 1:	e772
  Additional Information 2:	e77271159bd7df4c3732a2ba5858ede8
  Additional Information 3:	9649
  Additional Information 4:	9649f9b195842ac939b73b1d7053a4cc

Read our privacy statement online:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
CMD

Code: Select all

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:	APPCRASH
  Application Name:	Maia.exe
  Application Version:	0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp:	515de434
  Fault Module Name:	ntdll.dll
  Fault Module Version:	6.1.7601.17725
  Fault Module Timestamp:	4ec49b60
  Exception Code:	c00000fd
  Exception Offset:	00052bb6
  OS Version:	6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID:	2057
  Additional Information 1:	177e
  Additional Information 2:	177e35d7b3319fe1f08f20e53b5fb599
  Additional Information 3:	b697
  Additional Information 4:	b6972d61557c9eb884079161a4c86150

Read our privacy statement online:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
Last edited by Nettle on Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Youjellyman
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:09 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test

Post by Youjellyman » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:47 pm

SimoRoth wrote:Just posted a new exe.

ATI users does it work!?

Also fixed - Evil blue fog.
You can zoom out 3x as far now.
Pressing L now deletes previous world's objects and plants. (still leaks some memory, but its only a debug tool!)
Sound disabled. (Its been the root of a few crashes)
Guy with a 6850 here. No changes from last .exe. Still get "maia.exe has stopped working"

User avatar
StfN
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:33 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Windows Engine Test

Post by StfN » Thu Apr 04, 2013 8:54 pm

The new .exe seems to be worse for me than the last one. This one crashes on moving around with WASD even on the 1600x900 resolution. Nothing else seems to have changed (as in, still crashes on pretty much anything I do)
Windows 7 64-bit
Intel Core i7 4770K (4.0 GHz)
16 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770, 4GB

fohx
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:11 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test

Post by fohx » Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:01 pm

SimoRoth wrote:Just posted a new exe.

ATI users does it work!?
Still crashes for me. :(

Btw, VS2012 has the option to load symbols from Microsoft's servers, doing so tells me...
Spoiler: show
> ntdll.dll!__SEH_prolog4() Unknown
ntdll.dll!_RtlDebugAllocateHeap@12() Unknown
ntdll.dll!@RtlpAllocateHeap@24() Unknown
ntdll.dll!_RtlAllocateHeap@12() Unknown
KernelBase.dll!_LocalBaseRegEnumValue@28() Unknown
KernelBase.dll!_RegEnumValueA@32() Unknown
aticfx32.dll!6b483898() Unknown
[Frames below may be incorrect and/or missing, no symbols loaded for aticfx32.dll]
aticfx32.dll!6b486f7b() Unknown
ntdll.dll!_RtlpHeapAddListEntry@24() Unknown
ntdll.dll!@RtlpCreateSplitBlock@28() Unknown
ntdll.dll!@RtlpAllocateHeap@24() Unknown
ntdll.dll!_RtlAllocateHeap@12() Unknown
Not really sure if that helps though, can't tell much from it, more than it crashes while trying to allocate memory (the driver) but I'm missing symbols so it's impossible to know how large the stack actually is. Could be memory allocation related in either case.

But that's as far as I get without actual access to your source code. ;)

User avatar
SimoRoth
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:28 am

Re: Windows Engine Test

Post by SimoRoth » Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:07 pm

StfN wrote:The new .exe seems to be worse for me than the last one. This one crashes on moving around with WASD even on the 1600x900 resolution. Nothing else seems to have changed (as in, still crashes on pretty much anything I do)
Odd. Could you try turning off all the application preferences in the NV control panel. I think it might be fighting my settings.

User avatar
unapalm
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 2:24 pm
Location: Near Brighton, UK

Re: Windows Engine Test

Post by unapalm » Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:18 pm

Just some feedback - those moving green dots really make my eyes go weird, especially when I have a lot of tiles selected.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests