Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Discussion of Maia's on going development, including modding.
Ortwin
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:21 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Post by Ortwin » Tue Apr 09, 2013 8:16 am

OS: Win7 64-bit
CPU: i7 2630QM (2 GHz quad core with hyperthreading, turbo boost up to 2.8 GHz)
GPU: Geforce GT 540m
RAM: 6 GB (I think DDR3)

Code: Select all

Game Started
Loading Config settings
SDL Video Initialised
Creating Window
Creating OpenGL Context
Creating game core
No game pad found.
Problem with joystick/gamepad.
Resources//Shaders//Shaders.xml
Resources//Shaders//Shaders.xml
Loading shader ScreenSpaceOcclusion
ERROR: 0:1: ' ' : Version number not supported by OGL driver
ERROR: 0:3: 'precision' : syntax error syntax error


Error: Vertex Shader Compilation Failed
Druk op een toets om door te gaan. . . 
ERROR: 0:1 ' ' : Version number not supported by OGL driver
ERROR: 0:14: 'in' : supported in GLSL 1.30 or later
ERROR: 0:15: 'out' : supported in GLSL 1.30 or later
ERROR: 0:19: 'layout' : syntax error syntax error


ERROR: Pixel Shader Compilation Failed
Druk op een toets om door te gaan. . . 
ERROR: 0:1 ' ' : Version number not supported by OGL driver
ERROR: 0:14: 'in' : supported in GLSL 1.30 or later
ERROR: 0:15: 'out' : supported in GLSL 1.30 or later
ERROR: 0:19: 'layout' : syntax error syntax error


ERROR: 0:1: '' : Version number not supported by OGL driver
ERROR: 0:3: 'precision' : syntax error syntax error


Failed to link shader.

Druk op een toets om door te gaan. . . 
(That last line is 'Press any key to continue...' in Dutch, I guess that message is automatically localized)
Pressing any key more often only repeats the same error codes.

Drivers are up to date. Though I do suspect my PC of not using my Geforce GPU at all (Windows seems to only use the intel HD 3000 graphics, the Geforce set IS being used for most games though.

Besides the above info it also opens an all white full screen window.

edit: and I downloaded the test build ~10 minutes before this post, so it is the latest.
Maybe add build numbers at the start of the game? In stead of 'Game started' -> 'Game WinAlpha 2.xxxxx started'.
Before long there will be dozens of slightly different builds around, when people post their errors/complaints or compliments I think you want to know more than "eh.. it's some WinAlpha 2 build...".


Edit 2:
After smashing any key for some time I get more errors:
Spoiler: show
0:4, 0:5, 0:6, 0:7, 0:10, 0:12, 0:13, 0:14, 0:15, 0:27

Also:
WARNING: 0:2 extension 'GL_EXT_gpu_shader4' is not supported
WARNING: 0:73, 74, 88, 92, 95, 99, 100, 101, 102, 105, 'texture 2D' function is deprecated in current GLSL version

Then I get LOTS of
'No such uniform named xxxxxxx in shader GBufferNM/Alphaparticle' where xxxx is 'world' 'albedo' 'normal' and a few other things I don't get :P.

Then it ends with

Code: Select all

Resources//Assets.xml
Loading model failed:SpaceSuit
Loading model: Resources/Entities/Imp/Imp.modelSeq
Loading model: Resources/Entities/Chicken/Chicken.modelseq
No sucht uniform named lightColourBuffer in shader Lightpass
No such uniform named lightPosBuffer in shader Lightpass
No such uniform named lightAttenuationBuffer in shader Lightpass
Initialising Engine
Resources//Engine//Fonts//Gui.fnt
Resources//Engine//Fonts//Gui.fnt
Resources//Engine//Fonts//Gui.fnt
Resources//Engine//Fonts//Gui.fnt
Setting FMOD media path
Loading FMOD fev
Loading Sound Event
White window stays white, CPU goes to 30% and I can enjoy the sound of extraterrestrial winds :).
It closes with esc.

You responded to similar symptoms with 'looks like your stuff doesn't support OpenGL 4', but all my graphics diagnostics say I have OpenGL 4.3.0.
And GLSL version '4.30 NVIDIA via Cg compiler'

edit 3: my GPU should be fine, it seems to work with a GT 520 for the guy 2 posts down.
Last edited by Ortwin on Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:46 am, edited 4 times in total.

Mo0z3d
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:32 am

Re: Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Post by Mo0z3d » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:28 am

Everything works, but I have the same problem as Muuki.
I'm only getting ~10fps

Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2670QM CPU @ 2.20GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M (Driver Version: 9.18.13.1422)

User avatar
Studdart
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 11:36 am
Location: UK

Re: Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Post by Studdart » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:33 am

Well I get a stunning 2.4 FPS on my rig...
But to answer the tests at the start:

Tests

Does the window load? Works
Does the spinning globe appear? Works
Does it registers input? (mouse clicks) Works

If once you click, it gets into game. You can use:

wsad = movement. Works
mousewheel = zoom Works, doesn't zoom very far outwards though, current max view is something towards what I'd consider standard view
alt + mouse mouse = rotate camera Works

Debug Controls:

j = Place rooms Works
h = Info mode. Click-place digging markers (on rock) / read info tips (on mouseover of objects) Works
k = Debug click-place objects (use v-b to scroll all objects ctrl for snap-to-grid ) Works
u = Debug instabuild objects (gets rid of green hologram effect) . Works

l = regenerate world. (bugged: creates a small memory leak and will eventually crash the game) Works

Escape = Exit Works

-/+ Keypad = Modify game time speed (). Works

Once the game is running

Do the colours look right? Is the gamma OK? Yes, Gamma, seems ok, seems to work fine in dark and also in the light, if you understand what I mean
Are there any obvious immediate glitches? Nope
Does it chug? Hows the framerate? (Framerate is locked so don't be too depressed if its stuck low)2.4 FPS
Is there sound. Yes

Spec below anyway:
Windows 7 Professional 32-bit
Intel Core i5 CPU 650 @3.2GHz
4096MB RAM
Nvidia GeForce GT 520
Also running Dual Screens


Granted not the best spec in the world :P
I'll get my coat...

AvatarIII
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:46 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Post by AvatarIII » Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:58 am

Has there been a new build since last night? or is the failing to tile thing only happening for some people (Radeon Users probably :roll: )?

Zerkuron
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:07 am

Re: Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Post by Zerkuron » Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:14 am

Tests

Does the window load? WORKS
Does the spinning globe appear? WORKS
Does it registers input? (mouse clicks) WORKS

If once you click, it gets into game. You can use:

wsad = movement. WORKS
mousewheel = zoom WORKS
alt + mouse mouse = rotate camera WORKS

Debug Controls:

j = Place rooms WORKS
h = Info mode. Click-place digging markers (on rock) / read info tips (on mouseover of objects) WORKS
k = Debug click-place objects (use v-b to scroll all objects ctrl for snap-to-grid ) WORKS
u = Debug instabuild objects (gets rid of green hologram effect) . WORKS

l = regenerate world. (bugged: creates a small memory leak and will eventually crash the game) WORKS no crash so far

Escape = Exit WORKS

-/+ Keypad = Modify game time speed (). WORKS

Once the game is running

Do the colours look right? Is the gamma OK? WORKS
Are there any obvious immediate glitches? WORKS
Does it chug? Hows the framerate? (Framerate is locked so don't be too depressed if its stuck low) 14.5
Is there sound. WORKS

Please post your system specs along with any problems you have.

Specs:
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-Bit
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 @2.33GHz
MB: Asus P5QL/EPU
GC: NVidia Geforce 250 GTS
RAM: 4GB Singleslot
HD: 1TB S-ATA
Dublescreen

User avatar
Belsameth
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 5:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Post by Belsameth » Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:22 am

AvatarIII wrote:Has there been a new build since last night? or is the failing to tile thing only happening for some people (Radeon Users probably :roll: )?
Not as far as I know. You know Simon, he prefers to sleep till well after noon :p

AvatarIII
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:46 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Post by AvatarIII » Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:24 am

Belsameth wrote:
AvatarIII wrote:Has there been a new build since last night? or is the failing to tile thing only happening for some people (Radeon Users probably :roll: )?
Not as far as I know. You know Simon, he prefers to sleep till well after noon :p
well I went to bed at 11, so he could have done a new build after that and not mentioned it :P since everyone that tested it after about midnight seems to have been getting on ok, (but they all have GeForce cards)

Ortwin
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:21 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Post by Ortwin » Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:36 am

Belsameth wrote:
AvatarIII wrote:Has there been a new build since last night? or is the failing to tile thing only happening for some people (Radeon Users probably :roll: )?
Not as far as I know. You know Simon, he prefers to sleep till well after noon :p

Office people work day: 08:00 - 18:00
Web/game people work day: 14:00 - 24:00


AvatarIII, I have a Geforce card but can't get it to work either.

User avatar
Tikigod
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:29 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Post by Tikigod » Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:45 am

Ortwin wrote:
Belsameth wrote:
AvatarIII wrote:Has there been a new build since last night? or is the failing to tile thing only happening for some people (Radeon Users probably :roll: )?
Not as far as I know. You know Simon, he prefers to sleep till well after noon :p

Office people work day: 08:00 - 18:00
Web/game people work day: 14:00 - 24:00


AvatarIII, I have a Geforce card but can't get it to work either.
Only until Midnight? I dunno, 3-4am sounds more accurate. :D

And judging from a previous post Simon made about the problem also being present in the linux builds now after changes he made to the game, I think it's more development sourced than card manufacturer. ;)
Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent - Isaac Asimov

My channel. Game recordings & old 3D art assets I've made.

saviorofevil
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: Windows Engine Test 2: The Bloodening

Post by saviorofevil » Tue Apr 09, 2013 12:02 pm

Definately better, see statuses upon loading up, followed by globe then I see the words imp bot after clicking. It seems to have scrunched it all in a very small bottom left corner. (I have no modified the resolution )

Win 7 64, Radeon HD 6900, not sure if sound is working as I can't see to test it currently. let me know if there is additional information needed.

Tests

Does the window load? WORKS
Does the spinning globe appear? WORKS
Does it registers input? (mouse clicks) WORKS

If once you click, it gets into game. You can use:

wsad = movement. Can't tell
mousewheel = zoom Can't tell
alt + mouse mouse = Can't tell
The rest I also can't tell due to the glitch I am experiencing.
\
Are there any obvious immediate glitches? Seems to render in a small corner of the screen. I have a multimonitor setup, not sure if that is affecting it.
Does it chug? Hows the framerate? (Framerate is locked so don't be too depressed if its stuck low) 80
Is there sound. Yes

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest