Quick engine test build

Discussion of Maia's on going development, including modding.
User avatar
SimoRoth
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:28 am

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by SimoRoth » Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:30 pm

GMAN wrote:The planet in the beginning looks OK, not all the flashes that the Linux version had though.

There seems to be an error with the shaders

Code: Select all

Game Started
Loading Config settings
SDL Video Initialised
Creating Window
Creating OpenGL Context
Creating game core
No game pad found.
Problem with joystick/gamepad.
Resources//Shaders//Shaders.xml
Resources//Shaders//Shaders.xml
Loading shader ScreenSpaceOcclusion
Loading shader bilateralBlurHorz
Loading shader bilateralBlurVert
Loading shader Simple
Loading shader Text
Loading shader GBuffer_Floor
Loading shader GBuffer_FloorBlended
Loading shader GBufferNM
Loading shader GBufferNM_ALPHA
Loading shader GBufferInstanced
Loading shader GBuffer
Loading shader GBufferAnimateUVs
Loading shader ScanlinesGui
Loading shader ShadowMap
Loading shader ShadowMapInstanced
Loading shader ShadowMapAlphaSway
Loading shader GBufferAlphaSway
Loading shader GBufferAlpha
Loading shader VirtualEntity
Loading shader VirtualEntityFail
Loading shader DiggingMarker
Loading shader RoomMarker
Loading shader Lava
Loading shader Lightpass
Loading shader PreBloom
Loading shader HorzBlur
Loading shader VertBlur
Loading shader FinalComp
Loading shader 3dGui
Loading shader Clouds
Loading shader Atmosphere
Loading shader AlphaParticle
Loading shader LavaParticle
Loading shader AlphaParticleDistortion
Resources//Materials.xml
Resources//Engine/PipelineMaterials.xml
No such uniform named depthBuffer in shader FinalComp
No such uniform named impVis in shader FinalComp
Resources//Engine/Fonts/FontMaterials.xml
Resources//Entities/EntityMaterials.xml
No such uniform named random in shader ShadowMapAlphaSway
No such uniform named random in shader ShadowMapAlphaSway
No such uniform named Time in shader ScanlinesGui
No such uniform named normal in shader GBufferAnimateUVs
No such uniform named specular in shader GBufferAnimateUVs
Resources//Gui/GuiMaterials.xml
Resources//Particles/ParticleMaterials.xml
Resources//Assets.xml
Loading model failed:SpaceSuit
Loading model:Resources/Entities/Imp/Imp.modelSeq
Loading model:Resources/Entities/Chicken/Chicken.modelSeq
Initialising Engine
Resources//Engine//Fonts//Gui.fnt
Resources//Engine//Fonts//Gui.fnt
Resources//Engine//Fonts//Gui.fnt
Resources//Engine//Fonts//Gui.fnt
Setting FMOD media path
Loading FMOD fev
Loading Sound Event
Fbo construction failure. Incomplete FBO.
Error!  RenderShadowMap trying to draw to non-attached color buffer!
Fbo construction failure. Incomplete FBO.
Specifically:

Code: Select all

No such uniform named depthBuffer in shader FinalComp
No such uniform named impVis in shader FinalComp
No such uniform named random in shader ShadowMapAlphaSway
No such uniform named random in shader ShadowMapAlphaSway
No such uniform named Time in shader ScanlinesGui
No such uniform named normal in shader GBufferAnimateUVs
No such uniform named specular in shader GBufferAnimateUVs
It is a shader error. The shader utilities cannot match the program code to the shader variables:

Code: Select all

No such uniform named Time in shader ScanlinesGui
was fixed by adding the following to Gbuffer_Out_ScanlinesGui.vert

Code: Select all

uniform int Time;
and by changing "time" to "Time" in the file "UniformBuffers.xml".

I have tried fixing the remaining errors but with no luck so far...
Those are just debug warnings from my code. They are just reminders for me to clean up the data files.

User avatar
GMAN
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by GMAN » Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:44 pm

SimoRoth wrote: Those are just debug warnings from my code. They are just reminders for me to clean up the data files.
Cool, thanks for the info! :D
SimoRoth wrote:Interesting that some people get shader compile errors. Are your drivers up to date?

The shadowbuffer error is the reason for the black screen. For those who are interested. ATI for some reason, wont let me create a framebuffer(image to render to), without it having a colour buffer attached. While I can attach a colour buffer texture, the size of that texture would be obscene as the shadow map is 4096*4096. Its what made earlier builds use way more CPU than they needed. (system was constantly swapping the giant texture about)

This is unfortunately a limitation of OpenGL as well (http://www.opengl.org/wiki/Framebuffer_Object and the OpenGL Programming Guide). :(

User avatar
Tikigod
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:29 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by Tikigod » Sun Apr 28, 2013 3:55 pm

SimoRoth wrote: The shadowbuffer error is the reason for the black screen. For those who are interested. ATI for some reason, wont let me create a framebuffer(image to render to), without it having a colour buffer attached. While I can attach a colour buffer texture, the size of that texture would be obscene as the shadow map is 4096*4096. Its what made earlier builds use way more CPU than they needed. (system was constantly swapping the giant texture about)
Really?

That does seem rather silly of them, and a quick poke around leads to a AMD .pdf file that mentions something to do with GL_EXT_framebuffer_object extension:
The GL_EXT_framebuffer_object extension (FBO for short) is essentially built from scratch and
does not carry with it the baggage of earlier render-to-texture solutions. FBO has all of the following
attributes:
• Integrates directly with regular textures
• Requires no extra GL contexts
• Is windowing system independent
• Allows the application to control when mipmap generation occurs
Allows rendering to a target without a colorbuffer
• Allows depth, stencil and color buffers to be shared, and
• No buffers ever get lost
<Snip>

Not sure if it's at all relevant as not a clue about this side of things, but in case you want a look: http://developer.amd.com/wordpress/medi ... bjects.pdf
Last edited by Tikigod on Mon Apr 29, 2013 2:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent - Isaac Asimov

My channel. Game recordings & old 3D art assets I've made.

User avatar
GMAN
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by GMAN » Sun Apr 28, 2013 5:07 pm

"The minimum value for this is 1" in reference to color buffers (from http://www.opengl.org/wiki/Framebuffer_Object). The smallest color buffer is a GL_RGBA2 format, 2 bits each R/G/B/A. That means Simon's phantom texture will be 16MB! That's a lot of bandwidth to just throw around when it's not desired. at 64GB/s it would take 250 microseconds just to copy it!

Code: Select all

 Framebuffer Object Structure

As standard OpenGL Objects, FBOs have the usual glGenFramebuffers​ and glDeleteFramebuffers​ functions. As expected, it also has the usual glBindFramebuffer​ function, to bind an FBO to the context.

The target​ parameter for this object can take one of 3 values: GL_FRAMEBUFFER​, GL_READ_FRAMEBUFFER​, or GL_DRAW_FRAMEBUFFER​. The last two allow you to bind an FBO so that reading commands (glReadPixels​, etc) and writing commands (any command of the form glDraw*​) can happen to two different buffers. The GL_FRAMEBUFFER​ target simply sets both the read and the write to the same FBO.

When an FBO is bound to a target, the available surfaces change. The default framebuffer has buffers like GL_FRONT​, GL_BACK​, GL_AUXi​, GL_ACCUM​, and so forth. FBOs do not have these.

Instead, FBOs have a different set of images. Each FBO image represents an attachment point, a location in the FBO where an image can be attached. FBOs have the following attachment points:

    GL_COLOR_ATTACHMENTi​: These are an implementation-dependent number of attachment points. You can query GL_MAX_COLOR_ATTACHMENTS​ to determine the number of color attachments that an implementation will allow. The minimum value for this is 1, so you are guaranteed to be able to have at least color attachment 0. These attachment points can only have images bound to them with color-renderable formats. All compressed image formats are not color-renderable, and thus cannot be attached to an FBO.
    GL_DEPTH_ATTACHMENT​: This attachment point can only have images with depth formats bound to it. The image attached becomes the Depth Buffer for the FBO.
    GL_STENCIL_ATTACHMENT​: This attachment point can only have images with stencil formats bound to it. The image attached becomes the stencil buffer for the FBO.
    GL_DEPTH_STENCIL_ATTACHMENT​: This is shorthand for "both depth and stencil". The image attached becomes both the depth and stencil buffers.

    Note: If you use GL_DEPTH_STENCIL_ATTACHMENT​, you should use a packed depth-stencil internal format for the texture or renderbuffer you are attaching. 
I was hoping this would work on my computer in Windows because it worked well in Linux, and AMD has crappy linux video card drivers. But ironically it doesn't work in Windows! My PC is dual boot Windows 7 Ultimate / Linux Mint 14 (64-bit on both)

User avatar
SimoRoth
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:28 am

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by SimoRoth » Sun Apr 28, 2013 7:36 pm

Yeah. I'll go over that ATI article. Looks identical to my code though so no promises. Worst case we will have to have a shitty phantom texture. :(

User avatar
GMAN
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Dec 23, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by GMAN » Sun Apr 28, 2013 7:55 pm

IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The planet shows up, meteor flashes and all! It looks better than the linux version (I haven't upgraded the linux driver yet).
I can build things and add lights, see the terrain and IMP bot.
Works just like the Linux Test Build, with the same black squares on the left and all.

I also get from 30-70 FPS

I updated to AMD Catalyst drivers 13.4, and installed the latest Catalyst Application Profiles. I didn't know they released new drivers 4 days ago (I checked last Sunday).

2x AMD Radeon HD 7750 Crossfire
AMD FX-8350 8-core 4.2GHz processor
16GB RAM
Last edited by GMAN on Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
SimoRoth
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:28 am

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by SimoRoth » Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:01 pm

GMAN wrote:IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The planet shows up, meteor flashes and all! It looks better than the linux version (I haven't upgraded the linux driver yet).

I also get from 30-70 FPS

I updated to AMD Catalyst drivers 13.4, and installed the latest Catalyst Application Profiles. I didn't know they released new drivers 4 days ago (I checked on Sunday the 23rd).

2x AMD Radeon HD 7750 Crossfire
AMD FX-8350 8-core 4.2GHz processor
16GB RAM

OH!

Can other people try this and confirm?

User avatar
Tikigod
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:29 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by Tikigod » Sun Apr 28, 2013 8:58 pm

SimoRoth wrote:
GMAN wrote:IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The planet shows up, meteor flashes and all! It looks better than the linux version (I haven't upgraded the linux driver yet).

I also get from 30-70 FPS

I updated to AMD Catalyst drivers 13.4, and installed the latest Catalyst Application Profiles. I didn't know they released new drivers 4 days ago (I checked on Sunday the 23rd).

2x AMD Radeon HD 7750 Crossfire
AMD FX-8350 8-core 4.2GHz processor
16GB RAM

OH!

Can other people try this and confirm?
DXDiag

Confirmed. Just downloaded and installed the beta drivers released 4 days ago, now works.

Still get:

Code: Select all

Error!  RenderShadowMap trying to draw to non-attached color buffer!
Fbo construction failure. Incomplete FBO.
Spammed constantly though.



Don't think AMD have actually released non-beta drivers since last year, and the beta drivers released previously was more just aimed at optimisation for Tomb Raider. Noticed at the end of that .pdf I linked they mentioned some of the functionality as more of a future addition, could be why it wasn't working before? *shrug*

-----

Build Feedback

Slight behaviour issue with pathfinding/debris placement noticed with the build itself. It seems it's possible for a I.M.P to get stuck unable to move if it's mining and IMPs current position and surrounding locations end up having debris on.

Seems to be caused by how the rubble is placed regardless to position of the IMP, so the IMP can end up standing inside rubble?

Example

Image

Image


IMP won't move from that spot now.
Last edited by Tikigod on Sun Apr 28, 2013 9:25 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent - Isaac Asimov

My channel. Game recordings & old 3D art assets I've made.

Ascard
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 1:03 am

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by Ascard » Sun Apr 28, 2013 9:12 pm

ERROR: 0:/ : '' : Incorrect GLSL version: 410

Error: Vertex Shader Compilation Failed

[Enter Key]

Error: Pixel Shader Compilation Failed

[Enter Key]

Failed to link shader.
Attached vertex shader is not compiled

Cycles.

Sys Specs:
Windows 7
8GB Ram
Intel i7-3612QM @2.1 Ghz
GeForce GT 630M

Youjellyman
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:09 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by Youjellyman » Sun Apr 28, 2013 9:51 pm

Does not seem to be working for my 6850. I have the latest 13.5 drivers and the latest Maia build and I still get the black screen bug.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests