Quick engine test build

Discussion of Maia's on going development, including modding.
User avatar
SimoRoth
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:28 am

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by SimoRoth » Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:46 pm

Tikigod wrote:YouJelly, just to make sure you got a proper install of the latest drivers released this week, did you uninstall your current version before you installed the latest?

SimoRoth wrote:Also: Is anyone getting corrupted meshes on any of the objects? The terminal and supercapacitor are mangled on my ATI Linux build.
Did notice however that the tooltip text for the computer is either buggered, or you decided to have it spew out random characters that change every second often giving glitchy character placement.
Ok cool thanks. Must be a Linux issue then.

Computer terminal is deliberate. ;D

User avatar
SimoRoth
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:28 am

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by SimoRoth » Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:48 pm

Youjellyman wrote:
Tikigod wrote:YouJelly, just to make sure you got a proper install of the latest drivers released this week, did you uninstall your current version before you installed the latest?
Yes, I completely uninstalled the driver before installing the latest one.
Damn. Hopefully it will be cleared up by ATI soon. Chances are they rushed a fix for a new game like Sim City etc and haven't done a driver for all their cards yet.

JudgeJay
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:37 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by JudgeJay » Sun Apr 28, 2013 11:57 pm

ATI user with the black screen issue , new drivers have almost fixed it but there are still a number of tiles along the left hand side of the screen that are solid black. Everything appears ok otherwise!

User avatar
Mark
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 2:27 am
Location: Huonville, Tasmania, Australia
Contact:

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by Mark » Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:12 am

Catalyst 13.4 Drivers from 24/4/2013 worked for me.
Opening planet now has impact flashes that i didnt see before the 13.4 driver update.
Game now runs and no black screen.
I'm getting a few black boxes on the left hand side.
I was at 60-70fps after I placed objects, then started to throw out glow sticks until I got to 5 fps
Image

System
i7 860 @ 2.8
AMD 6850 1GB
16GB DDR3
120 GB SSD
Windows 8 64 bit
Catalyst 13.4 Drivers (24/4/2013)
[img]http://burninglegion.org/forum/download ... ig.png/img]

^^^^^Please turn BBcode ON in signatures^^^^^

User avatar
SimoRoth
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:28 am

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by SimoRoth » Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:35 pm

This is great news!

I can finally get back to working on the actual game instead of working around ATI's bugs.

kevok
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 8:03 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by kevok » Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:19 am

From the top left corner being (1,1), that cell is filled, then black for the next 15 cells. full at (1,17), black for 7 cells, full at (1,25), black for three, full (1,29), black (1,30), and full from then on.

sounds like there's a clue in the 15/7/3/1 pattern (divide by two)

EDIT: Gameplay notes. All objects seem to be working fine on ATI.

BUG1: Computer terminals don't give me a singlular message, just loop quickly through a couple dozen of them. *Not sure if bug or feature.

BUG2: I told my imp to dig out a tile that's exposed, but inaccessable, and now he's stuck trying to pathfind to it.
Image

BUG3: This beauty. Didn't start happening until text got down to the bottom couple of lines.
Image
AMD Phenom II X6 1045T
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560
2x 4GB DDR3 1333MHz
Windows 7 x64

AvatarIII
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:46 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by AvatarIII » Tue Apr 30, 2013 4:57 pm

I CAN CONFIRM THE 13.4 CATALYST DRIVERS WORK

anyway, other than some lighting bugs everything seems to be fine, except that when I press and hold the letter G, framerate grinds to a halt...

also, if you press minus it tries reversing time, and crashed the game, but this only sometimes happens. the first time I tried it it did not crash the game, :|

managed to crash it, repeatably, by placing one of every item, whilst still in dot matrix mode.

also FRAPS says my framerate is below 30, all the time, and I can get 60 fps on Bioshock Infinite with max settings.

User avatar
SimoRoth
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:28 am

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by SimoRoth » Wed May 01, 2013 9:03 am

Yeahs reversing time will in most cases crash the game. Its only really in there to help me fudge screenshots. :p

Fraps will only report 30fps as the framerate is locked. The one in the corner is what it would be if unlocked.

Pressing G will murder the framerate as it pauses tthe game for half a second. :p

troje888
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:43 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by troje888 » Thu May 02, 2013 9:34 am

Ati also worked fine with me when i updated my drivers.

When i press "H" and click a wall to be mined, the fps instantly drops to around 1 fps and generates errors.

Image

Image


Windows 7 64-bit
ATI 7870 (driver 24/04)
AMD FX-6100 3300 six core
16 gig ram

User avatar
Tikigod
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:29 pm

Re: Quick engine test build

Post by Tikigod » Thu May 02, 2013 1:06 pm

You should find that the framebuffer error is repeated right from the game launching to the planet screen, and not caused by trying to mine Troje.
Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent - Isaac Asimov

My channel. Game recordings & old 3D art assets I've made.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest