Engine Test Build 0.26

Discussion of Maia's on going development, including modding.
Finnboghi
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:17 am

Re: Engine Test Build 0.26

Post by Finnboghi » Mon May 06, 2013 8:02 am

I know this probably isn't as useful as many of the other reports here, but I might as well give a little more data.

I haven't found any significant oddities, but I did get some interesting performance results.

From what I've seen, everything works as intended and renders correctly.

However, my frame rate is very random.

When I'm staring at rock, I get about 20 FPS. While mining, it drops to about 5 FPS.

If I slide the camera around, my FPS jumps to between 40 and 70 while moving the camera, then returns to 20 when I stop. If I turn on the rain, the FPS climbs to about 30.

This is in full screen - I get slightly worse performance in windowed mode.

I have an i7-2600k @ 3.4GHz, nVidia 560Ti, 8GB DDR3, Windows 7 64-bit.

Looking forward to a playable alpha build!

Xaioxaiofan
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:32 am

Re: Engine Test Build 0.26

Post by Xaioxaiofan » Tue May 07, 2013 5:15 am

SimoRoth wrote:ATI users: Update your drivers to the newest ones from this week.
Sadly AMD has decided that my graphics cards don't exist so I'm using drivers from early 2012 but I can see the planet and half of it renders it loads quickly enough around 12 seconds from clicking the exe to game.. I assume I can only see black screen with green text, no mouse in the window, 20-26 fps and the massive spam of FMOD object handle errors are because of my old drivers.


Short specs list
Spoiler: show
AMD A4-3300M 1.9Ghz APU with Radeon HD Graphics
4GB RAM DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 6480G 512mb Integrated
AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1gb Dedicated

AvatarIII
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:46 pm

Re: Engine Test Build 0.26

Post by AvatarIII » Tue May 07, 2013 8:07 am

Xaioxaiofan wrote:
SimoRoth wrote:ATI users: Update your drivers to the newest ones from this week.
Sadly AMD has decided that my graphics cards don't exist so I'm using drivers from early 2012 but I can see the planet and half of it renders it loads quickly enough around 12 seconds from clicking the exe to game.. I assume I can only see black screen with green text, no mouse in the window, 20-26 fps and the massive spam of FMOD object handle errors are because of my old drivers.


Short specs list
Spoiler: show
AMD A4-3300M 1.9Ghz APU with Radeon HD Graphics
4GB RAM DDR3
AMD Radeon HD 6480G 512mb Integrated
AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1gb Dedicated
hmm, maybe Catalyst is just getting confused by the fact you have 2 graphics cards and an APU. have you tried installing the driver manually?

Xaioxaiofan
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 6:32 am

Re: Engine Test Build 0.26

Post by Xaioxaiofan » Tue May 07, 2013 3:10 pm

AvatarIII wrote:hmm, maybe Catalyst is just getting confused by the fact you have 2 graphics cards and an APU. have you tried installing the driver manually?
I think it's because I uninstalled Catalyst control center ages ago because of random BSoD caused by it's updates I'll try work out something before I get my new (Nvidia powered) computer

User avatar
SimoRoth
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:28 am

Re: Engine Test Build 0.26

Post by SimoRoth » Tue May 07, 2013 10:59 pm

Hopefully all my changes to the game will soon fix the ATI bug naturally anyway. Lots of refactoring and bug squishing going on!

User avatar
MellowTigger
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:22 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Contact:

Re: Engine Test Build 0.26

Post by MellowTigger » Wed May 08, 2013 3:39 pm

DxDiag

I get 5 fps, and the dos box shows errors like the following while loading the program. It seems that it dislikes my Nvidia card.

1)
Loading shader GBufferAlpha
0(2) : warning C7568: #version 410 not fully supported on current GPU target profile

2)
Resources//Engine//Fonts//Gui.fnt
FMOD error! (36) An invalid object handle was used.
Setting FMOD media path

Umbra.Paradox
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:52 am

Re: Engine Test Build 0.26

Post by Umbra.Paradox » Thu May 09, 2013 2:08 pm

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B17T_Qh ... sp=sharing <----- system Specs

when i try to load the game i get an empty window that just shows what ever was visible before i opened the window (almost like a picture of my screen but completely unresponsive)

any idea how to fix it?

(http://puu.sh/2PVg2.png here is the Dos box it sits on Loading Sound event no matter how long i leave it)

(i am not running the most updated Drivers because they crash my pc for some reason i am only 1-2 versions behind the latest drivers)

AvatarIII
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:46 pm

Re: Engine Test Build 0.26

Post by AvatarIII » Fri May 10, 2013 8:23 am

Umbra.Paradox wrote:https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B17T_Qh ... sp=sharing <----- system Specs

when i try to load the game i get an empty window that just shows what ever was visible before i opened the window (almost like a picture of my screen but completely unresponsive)

any idea how to fix it?

(http://puu.sh/2PVg2.png here is the Dos box it sits on Loading Sound event no matter how long i leave it)

(i am not running the most updated Drivers because they crash my pc for some reason i am only 1-2 versions behind the latest drivers)
You have an nVidia card so I don't think drivers should matter too much.

AvatarIII
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:46 pm

Re: Engine Test Build 0.26

Post by AvatarIII » Fri May 10, 2013 8:11 pm

Spoiler: show
Image
some stuff I noticed. Down at the bottom it's supposed to say "fps drops to 0-1 after a varyingly short amount of play."

dxdiag
Spoiler: show

Code: Select all

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 4/8/2013, 20:27:30
       Machine name: 
   Operating System: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center 64-bit (6.2, Build 9200) (9200.win8_gdr.130108-1504)
           Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
       System Model: GA-990FXA-UD3
               BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
          Processor: AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor            (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz
             Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8174MB RAM
          Page File: 2615MB used, 6773MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
   User DPI Setting: 144 DPI (150 percent)
 System DPI Setting: 120 DPI (125 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Enabled
     DxDiag Version: 6.02.9200.16384 64bit Unicode

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
          Card name: AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series
       Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
          Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6818)
           DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
        Device Type: Full Device
         Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6818&SUBSYS_25541458&REV_00
     Display Memory: 5859 MB
   Dedicated Memory: 2029 MB
      Shared Memory: 3830 MB
       Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)

tkmr
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:00 pm

Re: Engine Test Build 0.26

Post by tkmr » Fri May 17, 2013 3:27 am

Hey Simon, it's looking good!

A couple of things I've noticed: The incrementing memory usage every time I hit "l" to reload the world appears to be due to the fact that it's not unloading what was already loaded. If it hit "l" enough times I'll see old rooms/equipment that I had put down before I reloaded the world. (I reproduced this a few times, just spam hitting "l" and hopefully it will cycle back to your old world before it crashes).

Also there appears to just be a general memory leak. I accidentily left it running in the back ground, and had my task manager up. After 30-45 minutes of it running in the background, Maia's memory usage just started climbing even though I hadn't done anything in the game.

I'm running a Radeon HD5770 with the 13.4 drivers and have had no issues other than the aforementioned graphical glitches outside of the caves, though I didn't stress test it too much.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest