[Development] Pathfinding within bases

Talk about the game
Woetoo

[Development] Pathfinding within bases

Post by Woetoo » Sun Jun 12, 2016 6:01 pm

Background to this post

Firstly, whilst I'm a unemployed programmer of ancient legacy systems, I've no clue about 3D/2D worlds, programming in C++, vector3 objects, OOP, floating point numbers, game development or anything vaguely that could be considered a relevant technical background for this post.

Not that I'm going to let that stop me.

My observations

Yesterday, I played Maia 0.56 for a single play session of about 2 hours. No loading, no restarting. It didn't crash and I built a fairly large base.

But my impression was that the longer the game went on, the less predictable my colonists path finding became.
That's unfair, I wasn't really taking much notice until about the 90 minute mark when I was getting concerned that objects I'd requested be built 85 minutes ago still hadn't been built.
So I started to watch a colonist for 3 or 4 minutes. I think he was drunk and blind and perhaps had a small bar magnet embedded in his head. And I didn't think he was alone.

Now there are a lot of factors that could be the reason. I didn't build any plants. I barely built any lights. There's probably some other psychological reasons why I was being bad to my colonists.
There were a lot of small objects on the floor (ore piles) and the base was much larger that at the beginning of my play session. So there are lots of "working as intended" reasons why my colonist was walking some very obscure routes.
... or the AI was messing up.

I'll be posting a video of my testing session, if it ever finishes processing.

My idea

So I was thinking of one of my favourite games of yore.... Settlers. I think Settlers 3.
In that version of the game, a game NPC walking along a path would create a minor impression in the ground. Not even visible at first.